Retail trade figures

Suburban Adelaide shops and supermarkets will be required to revert to their pre-COVID-19 hours of operation from this Sunday, with the State Government announcing it will not be granting a further 30-day exemption to support physical distancing.

Under the 30-day exemptions – the first of which came into effect on March 21 – supermarkets and shops, regardless of their size, were permitted to open two hours earlier from 9am on Sunday and four hours later (until 9pm) on a Saturday and Sunday – if they chose.

For the past 4 months, the SA Government has followed SA Health advice and supported extended shop trading as an effective way of promoting physical distancing within stores – which has proven necessary to help stop the spread of COVID-19. With recent significant lifting of other restrictions in South Australia, public health advice no longer considers this extra measure necessary.

This means that from this coming Sunday, all non-exempt shops and supermarkets will be required to revert to their normal hours of operation, for example, they won’t be allowed to open until 11am on a Sunday morning.


To review all trading hour regulations per state and territory, click here.


Get Involved

The National Retail Association Trading Hours Committee is a group of regulatory compliance specialists from many of Australia’s major retailers who come together to discuss policy regarding trading hours and public holidays. The Committee communicates regularly with government, conveying the issues and concerns of the retail sector.

If you are interested in becoming a Committee Member, meetings are held twice a year in Sydney or Melbourne. Please contact David Stout, Director Policy, at for more details.