retail worker wearing mask
Additional COVID-19 Disaster Payments will be available to eligible workers in New South Wales and nationally over the coming week.

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie, explained that from Thursday 8 July, workers can claim a second COVID-19 Disaster Payment if they’ve been in lockdown for more than 14 days in the seven Local Government Areas (LGA) of Bayside, City of Sydney, Canada Bay, Inner West, Randwick, Waverley, and Woollahra.

“Eligible people in these areas will also be able to claim a third COVID-19 Disaster Payment from 15 July, as they enter their fourth week of lockdown,” Minister McKenzie said.

“From Sunday 11 July, those affected by lockdowns in the rest of Greater Sydney, the Blue Mountains, the Central Coast and Wollongong will be able to claim a second payment,” she said.

This payment will now also become available to people who were in a Commonwealth declared hotspot and haven’t been able to work because they were impacted by a restricted movement order when they returned to other parts of NSW or interstate.

“If you visited the seven Sydney LGAs originally impacted, or the areas of Greater Sydney, Blue Mountains, Central Coast or Wollongong and you’ve been subject to stay at home orders since you returned home, you may now be able to claim the COVID-19 Disaster Payment.”

From the third week of lockdown, applicants will no longer be required to declare less than $10,000 in liquid assets to be eligible for the payment.

Minister for Government Services, Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds, said eligible people can easily lodge a claim for these additional COVID-19 Disaster Payments online through myGov, once their area becomes eligible.

“In most cases people will be paid their COVID-19 Disaster Payment within one business day once it’s been granted,” Minister Reynolds said.

More information on the COVID-19 Disaster Payment and other available supports is available here.

Learn More