Business Nbn 1

The National Retail Association (NRA) has today heralded NBN Co’s announcement to invest $700 million over three years to help small and medium retailers unleash their full business capability.

Under the scheme unveiled on Tuesday, NBN will create up to 240 nbn Business Fibre Zones nationally that will provide access to the government’s high-speed fibre broadband.

NRA Deputy CEO Lindsay Carroll said that COVID-19 had emphasised the importance of online collaboration and cloud-based productivity tools for businesses.

“COVID-19 has seen many small and medium retailers expand their online operations and this announcement by NBN will greatly assist businesses make the necessary upgrades to their digital capabilities,” Ms Carroll said.

“Retailers are now more reliant on digital technology than ever before and under the current economic environment small and medium businesses need every advantage they can get to manage their costs.”

The Business Fibre Zones will particularly assist regional businesses by providing greater choice regarding internet service providers.

“Under this scheme businesses outside the centre of capital cities will have access to the same premium grade service and wholesale prices, levelling out the playing field,” Ms Carroll said.

“Small and medium retailers in regional areas will be provided with far greater choice when it comes to their service provider, injecting competition that will help lower prices for these businesses.

“The NBN Business Fibre Zones will also create a significant number of regional jobs, boosting spending in those local economies and indirectly benefitting retailers in those respective areas.”

“We certainly encourage all NRA members operating in any of the 240 designated zones to take full advantage of this wonderful opportunity that will provide them with faster broadband, greater choice and more affordable prices.”


First 130 Business Fibre Zones

National (130)    Suburb List 
NSW Metro (11)   Botany, Gosford, Lake Haven – Wyong, Lane Cove, Mosman, Neutral Bay, Parramatta, Randwick, Marrickville, Double Bay – Rose Bay, Central Coast
NSW Regional (23)  Albury / Lavington, Armidale, Ballina, Batemans Bay, Bathurst, Charlestown, Coffs Harbour, Corrimal – Austinmer, Dubbo, Goulburn, Lismore, Maitland, Mudgee, Newcastle CBD, Nowra, Orange, Port Kembla – Warrawong, Port Macquarie, Tamworth, Taree, Wagga Wagga, Wollongong, Shoalhaven
VIC Metro (13)   Berwick South, Box Hill, Clayton, Collingwood, Dandenong, Mornington, Springvale – Noble Park, Burwood, Chadstone – Oakleigh, Caulfield – Carnegie, St Kilda – Elsternwick, Blackburn – Mitcham, Richmond – Hawthorn
VIC Regional (12)  Ararat, Ballarat, Bendigo, Echuca, Geelong, Horsham, Mildura, Shepparton, Wangaratta, Warrnambool, Wodonga, Morwell – Traralgon
QLD Metro (10)  Annerley, Archerfield, Coorparoo, Darra – Richlands, Eagle Farm, Mount Gravatt, Stafford – Alderley, Tingalpa, Morningside – Lytton, Indooroopilly – Toowong
QLD Regional (13)  Bundaberg, Caloundra, Gladstone, Gympie, Mackay, Maroochydore, Maryborough, Rockhampton, Southport, Toowoomba, Townsville area, Wurtulla – Birtinya, Cairns – Port Douglas
TAS Regional (4)  Burnie, Devonport, Hobart, Launceston
WA Metro (17)  Balcatta, Bassendean, Canning Vale – Riverton, Fremantle, Henderson, Malaga, Mandurah, Midland – Guildford, O’Connor – Murdoch, Osborne Park Industrial, Rockingham, Subiaco – Nedlands – Shenton Park, Wangara, South Perth, Bibra Lake – Coogee (WA), Applecross – Melville, Belmont – Cannington
WA Regional (4)  Albany, Bunbury, Busselton, Geraldton
SA Metro (14)   Edinburgh, Hawthorn – Malvern (SA), Hindmarsh, Lonsdale, Melrose Park, Mount Barker, Norwood (SA), Port Adelaide – Gepps Cross, Prospect area (SA), Richmond (SA), Toorak Gardens, Unley – Parkside, Woodville Park, Willunga
SA Regional (1)  Mount Gambier
ACT Metro (4)  Belconnen, Canberra CBD, Deakin, Phillip
ACT Regional (1)  Queanbeyan – Hume
NT Regional (3)  Darwin, Palmerston, Casuarina