On behalf of the Board, members, and staff at the National Retail Association, I thank our Award nominees, winners, and the wonderful organisations and businesses that contributed to the success of the 2023 National Retail Awards.

Our sincere gratitude extends to our keynote speaker, Christine Holgate, whose speech on sustainability and driving business initiatives inspired our guests, and Team Global Express for their unwavering support as a sponsor for the National Retail Awards.

Our platinum event partner, Latitude was an integral part of the success of the Awards, and we thank them for their ongoing support and collaboration.

Thank you to our judging panel for volunteering your time to review the nominations and for joining us at the Awards. My sincere gratitude extends to Alita Harvey-Rodriguez, Managing Director at MI Academy, Aparna Gray, Vice-President of Marketing at Laxer, Tora Brophy, Strategic Manager at Google, Dr Jason Pallant, Director of Knowledge Enablement at The Lumery, and Peter Knock, Director at the National Online Retailers Association (NORA).

The National Retail Awards are the ultimate celebration of retail excellence, recognising and rewarding the exceptional individuals and businesses that contribute not only to the success of the Australian retail industry but the Australian economy.

Australian retailers have navigated the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, supply chain shortages, increasing inflation, and cost of living pressures. However, we are also seeing innovation, culture, and best-practice come to the fore.

Our strength can be found in the community of retailers who continue to adapt, innovate, and collaborate, and importantly, come together to celebrate the achievements of our talented business and retail leaders.

The 2023 National Retail Awards expanded to acknowledge the diversity and outstanding achievements of business and individual leaders from across Australia.

As an organisation that represents more than 60,000 stores across Australia, from small, medium, and large retailers, I am incredibly proud of the retail community, and this was evident in the nominations received for over seventeen categories of Awards.

Congratulations to our nominees, the impact you continue to make on the retail sector is crucial and your determination and drive are critical to the success of our sector.

My sincere congratulations extend to our seventeen award recipients. As Chair of the National Retail Association, I was immensely proud to see you receive your awards, as an acknowledgment of your dedication, commitment, and personal contribution to the Australian retail sector.

A special mention to our individual award winners in the categories of HR Professional of the Year, Ashley Thomas, Store Manager of the Year, Timothy Gamble, Retail Leader of the Year, Jeff Antcliff and Young Retailer of the Year, Chealsea Mostert.

Congratulations to the award-winning businesses, including Carma, Underwear for Humanity, Miss Amara, DISSH, Optus, Circonomy, Sleepy’s Hobart, My Little Bookshop, Price Attack, Appliances Online and Kmart Australia Limited.

To view more about our seventeen award winners and the incredible organisations they represent, visit our winners page. You can also explore the magic of the night by visiting our awards gallery.

Once again, congratulations to our award recipients, award nominees and a sincere thank you to our special guests. You contributed to a wonderful evening, brimming with enthusiasm and recognition of our incredible retail community.

Lastly, thank you to the board and staff members at the National Retail Association for another successful event.

I look forward to continuing the success of the National Retail Awards in 2024.