The movers and shakers across Australia’s food and beverage industry are encouraged to nominate to have their excellence in innovation, customer service and business outcomes celebrated at the 2023 National Retail Awards, hosted by the National Retail Association.

Nominations for the National Retail Awards close on 31 August 2023 and are now free for all to enter. This year the awards have been expanded to 17 categories and the nomination process simplified.

National Retail Association CEO Greg Griffith said the awards were the highest accolades in the Australian retail industry, celebrating ‘the best of the best’.

“We are thrilled to be able to recognise the enormous contribution Australia’s food and beverage industry makes every day,’’ Mr Griffith said.

“The award categories are diverse to celebrate our food and beverage entrepreneurs, their innovative ideas, sustainable practices, marketing campaigns, HR leaders, retail shopfronts, and online initiatives.

“It’s time to recognise members of the industry who go above and beyond.’’

To be eligible to enter, you must have selling a product or have established a business for at least the last 12 months.

Mr. Griffith said the National Retail Awards, now in their 51st year, reward and showcase the service and commitment members of the industry deliver to Australian consumers every day.

“I encourage members of the food and beverage industry to nominate a standout colleague, or their own business, and access the recognition and extraordinary opportunities that the awards provide,’’ he said. “The personal and professional rewards for winners are immense.

“Not only do they gain national recognition with PR and branding opportunities to raise their profile, but they also have an opportunity to attend a National Retail Association workshop of their choice to enhance their skills and experience.’’

This year’s 17 categories are:

  • Franchisee of the Year
  • Small Online Retailer of the Year
  • Medium Online Retailer of the Year
  • Large Online Retailer of the Year
  • Small Shopfront Retailer of the Year
  • Medium Shopfront Retailer of the Year
  • Large Shopfront Retailer of the Year
  • Innovation Retailer of the Year
  • Store Fitout/Improvement of the Year
  • Marketing or Sales Campaign of the Year
  • Sustainable Retailer of the Year
  • People and Culture Retailer
  • Emerging Retailer of the Year
  • HR Professional of the Year
  • Store Manager of the Year
  • Retail Leader of the Year of the Year
  • Young Retailer of the Year

Finalists will be announced on 26 October 2023 at the annual gala award dinner held in Brisbane at Howard Smith Wharves. For more information about the categories and eligibility criteria visit

Nominations are FREE OF CHARGE for both members and non-members of the National Retail Association.

The National Retail Awards were developed by the National Retail Association more than 50 years ago to recognise the pinnacle achievements of businesses and individuals who lead and grow Australia’s retail industry. Originally known as the Rewards for Excellence, the National Retail Awards were rebranded in 2017 and are enjoying renewed popularity attracting high-calibre entries. The awards’ extensive categories reflect the most important and innovative facets of the industry.