Mike Petrucci

The Western Australian Government has approved an extra four hours of trading for general retail stores in the Perth metropolitan area for the next two public holidays on Monday 1 June 2020 (Western Australia Day) and Monday 28 September 2020 (Queen’s Birthday).

These stores will be allowed to open from 8am to 6pm. Normal trading hours for these public holidays are 11am to 5pm.

Retailers holding small shop certificates can open 24 hours.


To see a summary of all Australian public holidays and important retail dates, click here.

To review all trading hour regulations per state and territory, click here.



Get Involved

The National Retail Association Trading Hours Committee is a group of regulatory compliance specialists from many of Australia’s major retailers who come together to discuss policy regarding trading hours and public holidays. The Committee communicates regularly with government, conveying the issues and concerns of the retail sector.

If you are interested in becoming a Committee Member, meetings are held twice a year in Sydney or Melbourne. Please contact David Stout, Director Policy, at policy@nra.net.au for more details.